Back to Where I Started

Dear Friends, Fans, and Followers,

I am writing this from the comfort of my living room, yet when this post is published I will be nearly 7,000 miles away in Nanjing, Jiangsu, China. I am so happy to share with all of you that I will be living in my hometown for the next four months. I know that my time in Nanjing will be a huge mark on academic, linguistic, and personal journeys.

Having spent the first three years of my life in this beautiful city, I feel a very deep connection to Nanjing. I have always proudly considered Nanjing my hometown and one of my homes. I am so thrilled to finally spend an extended amount of time there, to get to know the city’s ins and outs and quirky places, to finally own Nanjing as my city.

I hope to achieve a greater sense of balance between my American and Chinese identities. I hope to return to the Nanjing Social Welfare Institute, where I stayed for one year of my life. And I hope to feel everything deeply – the highs and inevitable lows, the love from all of my family and friends 7,000 miles away, the deep senses of resiliency and optimism that have carried me through life, and a stronger connection to my first family whether they be near or far, in Nanjing or another city, and in me.

With various social events, language studies, and personal reflections, as well as China’s numerous social media bans, I may or may not be able to update this blog frequently or at all. I ask that you be patient with me and hang in there. I know I will have new insight and stories when I return.

Thanks for following!

Until next time,
RTB

4 responses to “Back to Where I Started

  1. I think that you will learn how powerful language is in defining a large part who you are and how you think and feel. This might be one of your most profound challenges and greatest rewards. Good luck.

Leave a Reply

