One Year Blogiversary

Dear all,

My one year blogiversary is coming up this July 31st. I won’t have access to my computer then, so I figured I’d write this celebratory piece now. I first became inspired to write this blog after taking a course on transracial and transnational adoption that exposed me to other adoptee bloggers. After a couple months of perusing WordPress themes and blogs, I sat down and created my account. And I’m so glad I did.

Blogging has become an integral part of this past year and has benefitted me in ways I couldn’t have imagined when I began. This blog has connected me to so many people in the adoption community – adoptees, adoptive parents, and activists, helped me hone my writing skills, and given me a sense of agency in sharing my adoptee journey the way I want.  Perhaps most importantly, this blog and all of you (my followers) have renewed my optimism in the system through interesting dialogue. Thank you for thinking consciously and critically about race/class relations in the U.S. and beyond, gender inequities that  limit women’s choices/opportunities, and all of the complexities in adoption. I feel change coming. Thank you for being a part of that.

In light of this celebratory mood, I’d like to end on a positive note. A friend shared this video with me, and I want to pass it along to  you all. This adorable short was written, directed, and filmed by Asian American producer, Yulin Kuang, starring an Asian American lead. All about that Asian representation!

-RTB

4 responses to “One Year Blogiversary

  1. Congratulations, RTB!

    In this short time, you’ve written many a stupendous post, with eloquence, tact, and purpose, rationality, information, and organization, and resources.

    Look forward to more.

Leave a Reply

